ICD-10 Information

Internal Classification of Diseases, 10th revision (ICD-10)

The final date providers were able to utilize the Internal Classification of Diseases, 9th Revision (ICD-9) was September 30th, 2015.

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services released the final ICD-10 compliance deadline of October 31st, 2015. For more information on ICD-10, Aetna Better Health of Ohio encourages the use of the following materials and resources:

Ohio Department of Medicaid (ODM) ICD-10 Web Site

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid (CMS) ICD-10 Web Site

Road to 10 Web Site

Ohio Department of Medicaid: ICD-10 Tips 1st Edition

Ohio Department of Medicaid: ICD-10 Tips 2nd Edition

Ohio Department of Medicaid: ICD-10 Tips 3rd Edition

Ohio Department of Medicaid: ICD-10 Tips 4th Edition

Ohio Department of Medicaid: ICD-10 Tips 5th Edition

Ohio Department of Medicaid: ICD-10 Tips 6th Edition

Ohio Department of Medicaid: ICD-10 Tips 7th Edition

Ohio Department of Medicaid: ICD-10 Tips 8th Edition

Enroll in CMS ICD-10 Industry Email Updates

Follow CMS ICD-10 information via Twitter.

If you feel you are prepared for the ICD-10 implementation; ICD-10 testing is offered to providers via MITS_CGTESTING@medicaid.ohio.gov.

CollabT: A CMS ICD-10 Coding Practice Opportunity for Ohio Medicaid Providers

Ohio Medicaid was selected by CMS to participate in a nationwide ICD-10 Collaborative Testing initiative known as CollabT. CollabT is an on-line tool that offers medical coders an opportunity to practice ICD-10 coding and receive instantaneous feedback on their coding efforts (claims adjudication testing is not part of CollabT in Ohio). Practicing ICD-10 coding not only increases coder confidence by allowing coders to learn from their mistakes, but also helps identify documentation gaps in advance of the transition to ICD-10.  Coding practice is one of the most important determinants in whether an organization will experience a smooth transition to the new ICD-10 coding system.  

There is no cost for Ohio Medicaid providers to practice ICD-10 coding in CollabT.  If your organization would like to enroll, please review information.

The transition to ICD-10 on October 1, 2015 is required for everyone covered by the Health Insurance Portability Accountability Act (HIPAA). Claims that do not use ICD-10 for dates of service (outpatient and professional) and discharge (inpatient hospital) on or after 10/1/2015 will deny.

Please note:  The Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) and Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) will continue to be used to report services and procedures in outpatient and professional settings. However, all claims (inpatient, outpatient, and professional) will require an ICD-10 diagnosis starting October 1, 2015.